Welcome!

Welcome to The Starry Mantle, a blog where I hope to share my LOTRO outfit creations.

I’m a long-time LOTRO player, and have always enjoyed LOTRO’s cosmetic outfit system, but lately with the addition of the Wardrobe interface, the expansion of outfit slots available to us, and the ever-increasing amount of cosmetic skins (ranging from beautiful to quirky to weird to funny to epic-looking and everything in between) my interest in outfitting as a hobby has grown. Even more importantly, I’ve been hugely inspired in this pasttime by the exceptionally talented LOTRO outfitters listed in the blogroll to the right: Cosmetic LOTRO, the LOTRO Stylist, and LOTRO Fashion to name just a few. I am always astonished at the creative and fascinating combinations featured on all of these blogs and in the popular “Show us your favourite cosmetic outfit” thread on the official LOTRO forums. It is clear that a great many LOTRO players, including those who do not keep blogs, have a passion and a talent for outfitting.

So why start another blog about LOTRO outfitting when there are already many others out there (whose creativity I freely admit far exceeds my own)? Simply because I think the possibilities of great combinations for LOTRO outfits are endless — and I know that I eagerly peruse every new LOTRO cosmetic blog I can find. At the same time, I think it is really interesting how each of the esteemed bloggers I list in the blogroll has their own unique voice and brings their own unique perspective to their creations. I hope that I too will be able to share a little inspiration to anyone who stops by.

For the moment, and for the indefinite future, I do not have access to a lot of higher-end Bind-on-Aquire items. Therefore, readers may find that the outfits I feature should be fairly easy for anyone to put together. I always have stories in mind for my characters, and I like to do the same for the outfits I create, trying to find ways to fit the outfit to the lore or vice-versa. I hope to also do a number of outfits inspired by characters from Tolkien’s writings.

Speaking of Tolkien’s writings, I should explain the title of the blog, though the reference is no doubt very familiar to all Tolkien fashion-devotees. It comes from a passage in The Return of the King in which Éowyn and Faramir stand upon the walls of Minas Tirith, looking to the East, hoping for a sign. Faramir had sent for a mantle that had been made for his mother, Finduilas of Amroth, and given it to Éowyn:

…[T]he lady Éowyn wore a great blue mantle of the colour of deep summer night, and it was set with silver stars about hem and throat. Faramir had sent for this robe and had wrapped it about her; and he thought she looked fair and queenly indeed as she stood there at his side.

The Lord of the Rings 6:V

Thank you for tolerating my very wordy introduction! I intend to keep a very casual posting schedule, so I do hope you will be patient as my collection grows. I would also ask that if you know of any LOTRO-cosmetics blogs that I do not have listed in the blogroll, please drop me a line and let me know. I look forward to many more outfits along the way Mordor!

This entry was posted in Messages. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome!

  1. Great initiative! I agree with you completely about the endless possibilities of outfit combinations and look forward to your creations. Will add you to my links as well. /cheer!

  2. Fionnuala says:

    I love the starry mantle! One of these days I’m going to make one in real life for myself. 🙂 Welcome to blogging.

  3. Lotro Savvy says:

    Hey there! Great blog so far it has a lot of potential and I’ll definitely be checking often. Glad to see another Lotro cosmetics lover. All the best, I’ll provide a link from my blog also thanks a bunch for linking to me too.

    ❤ Savs

  4. Devonna says:

    I am loving what you have so far. I look forward to what you have in store for us 🙂

Leave a Reply

