Floral Archer

Hobbits had specific traditions when it came to naming their children. One of the traditions for girl-children was to name them after flowers. It seems as though working class families preferred simple and straightforward flower-names, which have been given English translations such as Daisy and Rose, while the more aristocratic families chose more elaborate flower-names, given likewise grander English translations (often with a Latinate etymology) like Eglantine and Melilot.

This hobbit-lass is from a simple, hardworking family and is herself named in the Hobbit-tradition after a simple flower, but she has an exciting secret identity: “the Archer of Flowers”! By day, she assists her mum in all the things that Hobbit-lasses are expected to, but during her spare time, she has practiced archery and has found quite a passion for it. So much so, in fact, that she has surpassed her brothers in skill and plans to enter the archery contest at the next Farthing Fair under the moniker of “the Archer of Flowers”. Hobbits never hunt animals for sport, you see, so she has never shot a living thing, just target bullseyes — but her aim is so great that she can shoot the head off a daisy at great distance. To play up the image, she has embroidered her archery tunic with fanciful flowers. Proud of his youngest, her dad has given her his “adventuring hat” to wear to the Fair, for good luck. Word in the Westfarthing is that this mysteriously named contestant just might win the blue riband!

Simbelmynë, “evermind”, is the Old English translation of the Rohirric name for a small, white, anemone-like flower that grew on the grave-mounds of the kings of Rohan at the gate of Edoras. The name is thus reminiscent of forget-me-nots, but as Tolkien said he was imagining an anemone-like flower, clearly it is not the same plant. Anyway, the new simbelmynë-themed cosmetics that came with this year’s spring festival are so pretty that I couldn’t resist creating an outfit around one. The soft, feminine colours suggested something sweet for a Hobbit-lass, and after playing around with various pieces trying to match the different shades of pink and dusky rose on the tunic and leggings, this outfit is the result!

  • Head: Adventurer’s Hat (bartered — skirmish camp cosmetics quartermaster/cosmetic items, violet
  • Shoulders: Worn Ranger’s Wrap (quest reward — epic [75] Volume 3, Book 5, Chapter 1: Separate Ways – Golodir), rose
  • Back: Spring Adventurer’s Quiver (bartered — spring festival rewards vendor/cosmetics), forest green
  • Chest: Simbelmynë Tunic & Trousers (bartered — spring festival rewards vendor/cosmetics), forest green

Tips: I used the Adventurer’s Hat because, dyed violet, it closely matches the colour of the trousers of the onesie chest piece. Speaking of which, the ampersand in the item’s name in the above list is sic erat scriptum; I think it breaks precedence with the usual item naming conventions used in game and so I have bugged it with the suggestion they replace the ampersand with “and”. Pedantic, I know! Back to the hat: I do wish the hatband of the Adventurer’s Hat was an undyable section in pretty much any colour. I love the shape of the hat, but cosmetics that dye solidly in one colour (as many of the “new-wave” of cosmetics do) tend to look a little flat to me. If you prefer another hat, thematically any of the many “Robin Hood” style hats available in game would look great with this outfit, with a bit of dye colour experimentation. The quiver used in this outfit has the same appearance as the Rugged Quiver (looted — anniversary event/Elegant and Lavish Gift Boxes).

This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Floral Archer

  1. Awww she looks so adorable and sooo realistic as well! The hat gives her a very self willed expression. The combination with that quiver is very good, as that is a hard one to combine! She’s a real Robin Hood indeed!

  2. Freyjuska says:

    she’s so cute! I have a weak spot for hobbit hunters understandably, but I think this is really lovely outfit on any scale!

    • My main’s a hobbit too (though a minstrel) and yet oddly, I have the hardest time dressing hobbits. Maybe I feel a little too limited conceptually, or maybe there just aren’t enough hobbity pieces. Anyway, I’m always happy when I find a good hobbit look!

  3. Ivy says:

    I love this tunic and featured it on my new blog as well. I find it wonderful that with a bit of dye and some accessories this piece can look so different! On a side note, I really need to level another character high enough to choose the other Grey Company reward, the shoulders are lovely and very different from their darker cousin.
    Thank you for continuing to inspire. 🙂
    –Ivy

    • Thanks Ivy, I’m so glad I was able to inspire! 😀

      Was your blog down earlier today? I wanted to add you to my blogroll but I couldn’t get through to your site.

      • Ivy says:

        It was down for a few days but as of yesterday the issue was resolved. I just checked and it seems to working ok now. 🙂

  4. Elenluin says:

    She looks great! I also think that green is the best colour for the tunic.

  5. Lasswen says:

    Awesome! I love how the shoulders look with it all, and the quiver matches really well. I think hobbits are much better suited to the tunic &/and pants than elves or humans, as the short pants aren’t as distinct. I also really like the atmosphere the hat gives the outfit, though I’m also looking forward to getting a particular hat I have in mind that would give it that more ‘Robin Hood’ feel. You’ve certainly given me some ideas on some other ways that chest piece can be used, well done!

    • Hehe, I sort of like the short pants look on a hobbit, it seems to accentuate their small proportions or something. 🙂 Glad I was able to trigger some ideas for you, thanks Lasswen!

  6. too cute! The tunic goes really well with those shoulders and the hat really sets it off.

  7. Laenlis says:

    This is adorable. Hahaha, I’m seeing some sort of inner thought process (like there’s an outer thought process) that said, “OK, enough of darkness and dwarves.” And I love your use of that quiver. The contrasting between rose and green is one of my favorites.

  8. I might have to roll a hobbit hunter now just so she can be this cute. 🙂 The shoulder’s are perfect for this outfit.

  9. shipwreck says:

    I really like this one!

  10. Baranwen says:

    Another great outfit! That shoulder looks really good with the spring items.

Leave a comment