Shielded Selections

Countless stars of heaven's field mirrored on his silver shield

His sword was long, his lance was keen.
His shining helm afar was seen;
the countless stars of heaven’s field
were mirrored in his silver shield.

— “The Fall of Gil-galad”, The Lord of the Rings 1:XI

This Thursday past it was confirmed that cosmetic weapons and shields are finally being implemented in LOTRO! The system is now being previewed with Update 16.2 on the Bullroarer test server. Gloredh of Wandering Around Arda has also done a really nice preview showing how the new cosmetic slots work. This is something that I’m sure many other cosmetics enthusiasts have been hoping for for a very long time now, and I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised to hear about it! In fact, I’d given up hope that it would ever be added. I’m pleased to be proved wrong. I’m sure there will be some kinks and bugs to work out, but hopefully going forward this will be a great addition to LOTRO’s cosmetic system.

In honour of this new addition to the game, here is a selection of outfits featuring coordinating shields to give you some inspiration before Update 16.2 goes live.

Scaled skirmisher       Durin IV       Fram

The littlest shieldmaiden       Stalwart of Sarn Ford       Shield of the Stiffbeards

This entry was posted in Selections. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shielded Selections

  1. D.J. says:

    I was not expecting that to happen. And just after I tossed some of the unique weapons I’d been holding onto for no reason.

    • I know! I had pretty much given up hope too. I have heard that you may be able to get the items restored if you submit a ticket in-game with the name of the items and an explanation of what happened. Might be worth a try.

  2. Harrison Dansie says:

    What’d I say? Inspiration in its own time. Can’t wait to see what comes of it!

    • Yes indeed! I do have what I think is a great idea involving a nice shield with a rare skin, but I need another piece to drop (one of the warsteed cosmetics from Western Rohan). Hopefully it’ll drop for me soon!

Leave a Reply

